Monday, October 06, 2014

Add Five!

The ACLU Press Release:
equality ringsThe Supreme Court of the United States today denied review in all of the marriage equality cases pending before it. As a result of the Court’s action, same-sex couples in Virginia, Wisconsin, Indiana, Oklahoma and Utah will now be able to marry the partners they love.
This means there are 30 states where it's legal to marry a partner of the same sex.

My head is spinning from the speed of it. At the beginning of this year there were 17 states with marriage equality. And it really looked like the easy wins were over. I predicted a long hard slog.

I've never been so happy to be wrong.

PS: "Denied review" means the Court said there was no reason to take on the case. The lower circuits were right.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post

Links to this post:

Create a Link

     <-- Older Post                     ^ Home                    Newer Post -->